Hair, Eyes, and Locks

This has been an interesting week of diversity.  On Wednesday I started to see headlights in my right eye.  I called my ophthalmologist in Houston and he said to come right in not realizing that we were half way across the country.  Southwest airlines complied and got us here by Thursday night and on Friday I was having laser surgery to repair a tear in my retina.  I have to stay in Houston until Tuesday to be checked and hopefully, we will return to the Muriel June on Wednesday.

The Champlain locks are now open and we’ve talked with the Lock master in Lock 3 who tells us that the water levels are dropping and we should be fine to go through the end of the week.  So, we plan to re-provision on Thursday and leave on Friday. We have 12 locks on Champlain and the two locks leaving the Erie.  Our plan is to be in Burlington, Vermont by next Sunday.  However, we’ve had so many failed plans, we hate to predict any longer.

Hair has been another issue we’ve dealt with.  One’s hairdresser is personal and Alan and I have had the same hairdressers for as long as we’ve lived in Nassau Bay.  But, traveling on the waterways, we’ve had to find different hair dressers.  In Annapolis Alan got the typical Navy cut!  In Lake Placid Alan and Kai our grandson both got the Lake Placid buzz cut.  In Key West, the lady said my hair was so grey and fine, she couldn’t do a thing about it. But, here in New York, I can say that I look like the rest of the New Yorkers with dyed  reddish hair, short and spiky.  Alan didn’t recognize me when I first came aboard the Muriel June after my hair cut and New York look.  We decided that a blog needed to be posted about our various hair cuts.  The most expensive cut I got was in Baltimore.  I have little hair to trim each time, but that cut cost me $60.  Alan’s Navy regular was $8 in Annapolis. But the worst cut for both of us was from Kathy in Chesapeake who could barely hold the scissors and we were both luck to escape with our ears.  When we got back to Houston last fall, my regular hair dresser said, “Oh my GOD, have you seen the back of your hair!???”   Unfortunately we don’t have pictures of each of the cuts, but it caused a lot of laughs along the way.

4 Responses to “Hair, Eyes, and Locks”

  1. Bonnie Says:

    That is awesome u r joining the Rebecca’s now

  2. Sally Says:

    When we did the Loop, my husband took the dog clippers along. But he was afraid the dog might not look good, so we found a groomer—-and he buzzed his own head with the clippers!!

  3. June Pausback Says:

    I sure hope your eye gets better that sounds like a problem. Sounded like a bit or rain in Houston – good deal.

  4. Pamela Perkins Says:

    Downright frightening about the eyes. Was it simply a matter of the vitreous tearing away from the retina? Mine did that a year and a half ago, and then the next month the second one did so – but in both cases, there was no damage. I’m glad you got to your ophthamologist right away. Mine was close by, but I was scared about what was going on until I found out it was a natural phenomenon and had not hurt my retina(s). Hair? Funny stories! Glad to hear that the water is dropping. We had a nice little rain today – not a downpour but substantial.

Leave a comment